E bike
E bike

Silvretta Alps

The Silvretta Alps - or simply called Silvretta - include a number of three thousanders as well as several glaciers

The Silvretta Alps extend on the Austrian provinces North Tyrol and Vorarlberg, as well as the Swiss Canton of the Grisons. These regions meet at the top of Mt. Dreiländerspitze (Peak of Three Countries), which can be reached from the Wiesbaden Mountain Hut. The largest part of the Silvretta belongs to Swiss territory, including its highest peak, Mt. Piz Linard (3,411 m a.s.l.), while the Austrian part of this mountain chain is more popular and known with alpinists and tourists.

In the north of the Flüela Pass, the Silvretta Alps - called Silvrettagebirge in German - are characterised by a number of glaciers and therefore called "Blue Silvretta". The mountain range is bounded by the Verwall Alps, Samnaun Alps, Sesvenna Alps, Albula Alps and Plessur Alps.

Peaks: Among the best-known mountains which rise completely or in part on Austrian territory, there are Mt. Fluchthorn (3,398 m a.s.l.), Mt. Silvrettahorn (3,244 m a.s.l.), Mt. Vallüla (2,813 m a.s.l.) and the above mentioned Dreiländerspitze (3,197 m a.s.l.).

Trails: The most important refuges of the Silvretta Alps on Austrian terrain are the Jamtal Mountain Hut above Galtür, a wonderful backdrop for the event "Culinary Way of St. James", furthermore the Tübingen, Wiesbaden and Saarbrücken Mountain Huts. The Silvretta is also perfect for hiking and mountaineering: The Red Trail of the Via Alpina traverses the Silvretta Alps in four stages. The Silvretta High Alpine Road, however, is well-known among motorcyclists.

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!

Tips and more infos