sesvennagruppe fr
sesvennagruppe fr

Sesvenna Alps

About two thirds of the Sesvenna Alps are located in Swiss state territory, while one third belongs to South Tyrol and one corner to North Tyrol.

The Sesvenna Alps are a subgroup of the Central Alps that stretches in Austria (North Tyrol), Switzerland (Grisons) and Italy (South Tyrol). In Switzerland, which has the lion's part of these mountains, the Sesvenna Alps are also called Münstertal Alps. In Tyrol the Sesvenna Alps are located in the extreme north-east of North Tyrol, close to Nauders and Passo Resia.

Various mountain passes delimit the Sesvenna Alps: the Finstermünz pass and the Ofenpass in Switzerland, the latter represents the connection of the Sesvenna Alps and the Ortles mountain range. Moreover the Sesvenna Alps are delimited by the Passo Resia, connecting this mountain chain with the Oetztal Alps. Neighbouring mountain ranges are the Samnaun mountain chain, the Oetztal Alps and the Ortles, Albula and Livigno Alps.

Peaks: The highest peak of the Sesvenna Alps is the 3,204 m high Piz Sesvenna in the Swiss canton Engadine, which is name-giving for the mountain chain. The Piz Lad (2,808 m asl), however, marks the northernmost point of the Sesvenna Alps.

Trails: A popular walk takes you from Nauders to the tri-border boundary stone underneath the Piz Lad, where the borders of Italy, Austria and Switzerland meet. Moreover the red trail of the long-distance hiking trail Via Alpina takes across the Sesvenna Alps in two stages (R67 and R68).

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!


Suggested accommodations

Tips and more infos