Lechtaler Alpen Zams Zams
Lechtaler Alpen Zams Zams

Lechtal Alps

The Lechtal Alps are characterised by a distinctive main ridge.

The Lechtal Alps, which extend in the Austrian provinces Tyrol and Vorarlberg, are the largest mountain chain of the Northern Limestone Alps in the Eastern Alps. The main characteristic of the Lechtal Alps is their varied rock composition and appearance. The only mountain of 3,000 metres of the Northern Limestone Alps, which is the Parseierspitze mountain (3,040 m), belongs to the Lechtal Alps.

In the north the Lechtal Alps are bounded by the Allgäu Alps, in the north east by the Ammergau Alps, in the east by the Mieminger mountain chain and the Wetterstein mountain chain, in the south by the Oetztal Alps and Samnaun mountain chain, in the south west by the Verwall mountain chain and in the west by the Lechquellen chain.

Peaks: The highest summits are the Parseierspitze (3,040 m), Darwinkopf (2,970 m), Südlicher Schwarzer Kopf (2,949 m), Gatschkopf (2,947 m), Bocksgartenspitze (2,939 m), Holzgauer Wetterspitze (2,898 m), Oberer Bocksgartenkopf (2,888 m), Vorderseespitze (2,888 m), Freispitze (2,887 m) and the Eisenspitze (2,859 m).

Trails: The mountain chain of the Lechtal Alps is a very popular area for hikers. The European Hiking Trail E5 traverses the Lechtal Alps from north to south and another popular hiking path crosses the Alps lengthwise. However, there are also other paths, e.g. the Augsburg high path and the Spiehlerweg path. Also the red and yellow path of the Via Alpina traverse the Lechtal Alps. Moreover there are fixed rope routes such as the Arlberg and Imst rope route. You are spoilt for choice, as the possibilities are nearly endless!

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!


Suggested accommodations

Tips and more infos