Schaf Schlatenkees Matrei
Schaf Schlatenkees Matrei

High Tauern

The highest summit of the High Tauern is the Grossglockner mountain (3,798 m a.s.l.).

The High Tauern mountain chain spans in Salzburg, Carinthia and East Tyrol and is a central alpine high mountain area in the Eastern Alps. The Upper Tauern are devided in the Villgraten mountains and Venediger Group as well as the Granatspitz, Glockner, Goldberg, Kreuzeck, Schober and Ankogel mountain chains. Moreover the High Tauern prevalently consist of crystalline stones and slate and their composition is rather complex. The 120 km long ridge of mountains represents the middle of the Eastern Alps. In the High Tauern ice starts to be found between 2,700 and 2,900 m.

In the north of the High Tauern there is the Salzach river, in the south there is the Drautal valley, while the western border is represented by the Krimmler Ache and Valle Aurina in Italy. In the east there are the Grossarltal, Murwinkel and Katschberg pass. The most important traffic junctions are the Felbertauern tunnel, the picturesque Grossglockner high alpine road and the Tauern and Katschberg tunnel.

Peaks: Some of the impressive mountains of the High Tauern mountain chain are the Grossvenediger (3,666 m), Grosser Muntanitz (3,236 m), Hocharn (3,254 m) and the Hochalmspitze (3,360 m). And of course the "King of the Eastern Alps", the Grossglockner mountain (3,798 m).

Trails: With 1,836 sqkm the High Tauern National Park is the biggest national park of the Alps. Numerous educational trails provide useful information and maybe you even catch sight of a marmot or a chamois!

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!


Suggested accommodations

Tips and more infos