E Biken im Pillersee Tal
E Biken im Pillersee Tal

Leogang Mountains

The Leogang Mountains are a typical karst mountain chain and are therefore characterised by a series of caves.

The Leogang Mountains belong to the Northern Limestone Alps and stretch in Tyrol and Salzburg. The Römersattel pass (1,202 m asl) divides the neighbouring Lofer Mountains from this mountain range. The Leogang and Lofer Mountains are by the way listed as subgroups that belong together. The Leogang Mountains are delimited by the Lofer Mountains in the north west, the Kaiser Mountains in the west, the Kitzbühel Alps in the south and the Salzburg Schistose Alps in the south east, while in the east there are the Berchtesgaden Alps.

The Leogang Mountains are characterised by a series of caves. The largest cave of the mountain chain is the so-called Lamprechtsofen (oven = cave), which is known for centuries. About 700 m of the 51 km long cave have by the way been established as show cave. In North Tyrol the Leongang Mountains stretch to the Pillersee valley, located between the Lofer and Leogang Mountains and the Kitzbühel Alps.

Peaks: Most of the significant peaks of the Leogang Mountains are located in the state of Salzburg, some of which are the 2,634 m high Birnhorn, the Hochzint (2,243 m) and the Kuchelhorn (2,500 m).

Trails: The neighbouring mountains such as the Kitzbühel Alps have a more important role to play in alpine sports than the Leogang Mountains. Two mountain huts of the alpinists' association AVS are located in the Leogang Mountains, one of which is the Passauer mountain hut at 2,051 m asl. From Hochfilzen in the Pillersee valley, a great tour on the Griessener alpine pastures and to the Griessener high moor starts, a protected area and bird reserve.

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!


Suggested accommodations

Tips and more infos