SFL Genuss Liege c Serfaus Fiss Ladis
SFL Genuss Liege c Serfaus Fiss Ladis

Samnaun Alps

The Samnaun Alps stretch in North Tyrol and in the Swiss canton Grisons.

The Samnaun Alps are a sub-group of the Central Alps and stretch in North Tyrol as well as in the Swiss canton Grisons. Name-giving is the village of Samnaun, located in the only inhabited valley in this mountain chain. The Samnaun Alps are delimited by the Lechtal Alps in the north, the Oetztal Alps in the east, the Sesvenna Alps in the south, the Silvretta Alps in the west and the Verwall Alps in the north west.

The Samnaun Alps include several three-thousanders as well as several famous skiing areas, such as the Merdigjoch skiing area at See in the Paznauntal valley, the Silvretta Arena in Ischgl and the Serfaus-Fiss-Ladis skiing area.

Peaks: The most significant mountains of three thousand metres of the Samnaun Alps on Austrian terrain are the Piz Rots (3,079 m), also called Vesilspitze, the Vesulspitze (3,089 m), the Hexenkopf (3,035 m), the Bürkelkopf (3,033 m) and the Furgler (3,004 m). However, the total number of named summits in this mountain range is 140.

Trails: One of the 10 Austrian long-distance hiking trails, so to speak the "Zentralalpenweg 02", stretches across the Samnaun Alps. Popular mountain huts in this mountains are the Ascher Hütte (2,256 m asl), which can be reached from the Paznauntal valley, the Hexenseehütte as well as the Kölner Haus (2,588 and 1,965 m asl), both reachable from Serfaus.

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!


Suggested accommodations

  1. Wellness Residenz Schalber
    Wellness Residenz Schalber

    Wellness Residenz Schalber

Tips and more infos