The Archaeological Museum of Fliess and the Via Claudia Augusta Documentation Centre are next to each other.
Image gallery: Archaeological Museum Fliess
The ancient rectory of Fliess, called “Widum”, is under monumental protection and is the oldest house of the village. Already first mentioned in 1360, on the building itself the date 1713 can be seen. The facade paintings from the 18th century show the Saints Joseph and Antonius as well as Mariahilf (Our Lady of Perpetual Succour). In May 1994 the Archaeological Museum Fliess (Archäologisches Museum Fließ) opened here, a popular excursion destination for history lovers. It houses unique findings.
The museum is dedicated to the findings at the prehistoric sacrificial site at the Gachen Blick (weapons, jewellery and coins from 1,400 BC - 400 AD), to the Bronze Age find at the Moosbruckschrofen at the Piller Sattel (350 findings, the largest Bronze Age find of Europe) and the Bronze Age treasure from the Hallstatt age at Fliess (386 objects from the 6th and 7th century BC). One of the most interesting exhibits is the fragment of a crest helmet which is regarded as the oldest helmet of Europe. The findings were made by local people in 1990, 1991 and 2001. Also guided tours to the burnt offering site at the Gachen Blick are offered: in Bronze and Iron Age the Raeti moved there with their sacrificial animals to offer a sacrifice to the gods. In the centre of the place a stone altar, a fairground and an ashhill can be found.
Next to the ancient Widum with the Archaeological Museum Fliess, a modern building which houses the Via Claudia Augusta Documentation Centre, is located. It tells the history about the Via Claudia Augusta and shows findings, which were made along the old Roman road in Tyrol as well as a copy of the “Tabula Peutingeriana”, the only still preserved Roman road map. By the way: did you know that the Via Claudia Augusta is the only Roman road across the Alps named after an emperor?
Where: in the former Widum of Fliess
Characteristics: unique archaeological exhibits from the Gachen Blick, the Moosbruckschrofen and Fliess
Further information: phone: +43 5449 20065, email@example.com
Winter opening hours: from November 1, 2019, to April 30, 2020
only guided tours upon request for groups of at least 10 people
Summer opening hours: from May 1 to October 31, 2020
from Tuesday to Sunday from 10 am to noon time and from 3 pm to 5 pm
6.00 Euros, family card available