Silvretta mountain chain

The Silvretta mountain chain includes a number of mountains of three thousand metres as well as several glaciers.

The Silvretta mountain chain extends on the Austrian provinces Tyrol and Vorarlberg, as well as the Swiss canton Grisons. These regions meet at the top of the Dreiländerspitze mountain. The largest part of the Silvretta belongs to Swiss territory, while the Austrian part of this mountain chain is more popular and known with alpinists.

The highest summit of the Silvretta is Piz Linard (3,411 m), also located on Swiss territory. In the north of the Flüela pass, the Silvretta mountain range is characterised by a number of glaciers and therefore also called the “Blue Silvretta”. The mountain range is bounded by the Rätikon, the Verwall mountains, the Samnaun mountain chain, the Albula Alps and the Plessur Alps.

Peaks: some of the mountains in the Austrian part of the Silvretta are the Fluchthorn (3,398 m), Silvrettahorn (3,244 m), Grosses Seehorn (3,121 m), Hohes Rad (2,934 m), Bielerspitze (2,545 m), Vallüla (2,813 m), Dreiländerspitze (3,197 m), Schneeglocke (3,223 m) and the Big Piz Buin (3,312 m).

Trails: the most important refuges of the Silvretta on Austrian terrain are the Jamtalhütte refuge in Galtür and the Tübinger, Wiesbaden and Saarbrücken refuges. Of course the Silvretta is also perfect for hiking and mountaineering. One of the most popular hiking path traversing the Silvretta mountain chain is the red path of the Via Alpina.

tips and more infos